top of page
Search

Sylys' Rememberance Ceremony

We had just finished watching Santa Claus is Comin to Town, and The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus. Both recommendations from Sylys for our VR Chat movie nights. For the theme of Santa Claus stories, he wanted to see the Rankin Bass specials he loved as a kid. And watching those was incredible. But that's when I first noticed... Sylys' was losing his color. He felt more faint than his usual spunky self. We had a trip to Disney and Megaplex, which I refrained from posting on this blog, as I didn't want to come off as a clout-chaser and wished to respect his privacy. But rest assured, for the last year of his life, I was his best friend, and he was mine. We were genuine friends. His condition worsened as he stopped attending our movie nights regularly. Then, on VRC's New Year's party, I saw him immobile. Changa saw it, too. I was terrified.


He was in and out of hospitals with mini strokes. Every time he'd get treated they'd release him, only for the events to happen again. He was accepted to places of better and better quality and rehabilitation facilities until it was finally found he had stage IV liver cancer. I'd gone through the cancer journey with my mother. I knew he didn't have much time left. When Changa told me, I immediately began writing the song for Sylys' memorial room, and its design.



Then, after two months of trouble speaking, Sylys' finally had a moment of clarity and wanted to speak with me. Changa set up the call, and we had the Deathbed Conversation. The last lucid conversations Sylys ever had. I showed him every single thing I had planned for the museum's new floor, but told him it would take about 6 months to complete. He said "I'll wait!" He quickly lost basic functions and died one week later.



A photo I took of Sylys in front of... I'm not sure which cottage this was, at Disney World!

Sylys and I about to board Tron Lightcycle Run!

He made the trouble to come all the way to Florida to see me, go to Disney, and attend Megaplex. I made sure to attend the ceremony in person.


I stayed nearby at a motel in Korea Town, Garden Grove, California. Just a 1-mile walk to the Prancing Skiltaire. The room had 2 beds - my friend Xithos was going to come later and spend the weekend with me. The room on the second floor was adequate for my stay. But being there alone was swirling my head. I needed some groceries, and a walk. My entire trip to California was barefoot. Got a lot of looks from older Korean-Americans when I shopped at the local mart, where I bought fresh nuts, fresh fruits, and almond milk. I packed bags of tea from home. Rather than the flimsy plastic cups, I also purchased a mug from an anime souvenier shop so I might be able to make cup of tea at home whenever I wished. Having eaten a pork sandwich and taking a shower, I was finally relaxed after some very long flights.


Then... it was time to visit the Skiltaire. With Google in tow, I walked the distance and saw the streets of California. It certainly wasn't Hollywood or Beverly Hills. In fact, if it wasn't for the cool, dry air, it would've looked like some poorer parts of Florida. There was a lot of concrete and asphalt... honestly, it looked like GTA. And the sun was going down. I walked past the street I was supposed to take, but that allowed me to see plenty of businesses down the street.



The lit sign outside The Prancing Skiltaire. 13412 Gilbert St. in Garden Grove, California.

Then, as I turned the corner and walked down, I saw the sign lit up: The Prancing Skiltaire, held up by a tree trunk. Like a scene out of a movie, I knew I was someplace special. Rod was out there, and for the first time, we finally met in person. He was happy to see me, and commented on me being barefoot, where I explained. He showed me the Studebaker, and invited me in.


Upon visiting The Prancing Skiltaire... you enter a room more stunning and arresting than anything your life could've ever prepared you for. This wasn't a great mansion or a contemporary home, it's a 50s, 60s, or 70s home, covered from floor to ceiling with Furry art, books, comics, and memorabillia, some of it one-of-a-kind, and each one telling a story. I felt unworthy to enter. Also, my feet were quite dirty, and even the floor was quite Furry. I had no words.


Rod offered me a cup of tea. I recall Sylys asking me what they could offer to guests, as they have many who make pilgrimage to their home. That warm tea after a long walk in the dry, frigid air really hit the spot!


We reminisced, but it was clear time should be spent in preparation of the event. We had tonight and tomorrow, then the ceremony. I didn't have a speech. I didn't know what to say. Anytime I tried writing, nothing made sense. I saw the hoodie Sylys wore laid over the chair he sat in to play VRChat. That chair looked lonely, without him in it. Rod felt reluctant to accept Sylys' hoodie as his own. But when he wore it, I saw my friend. And we both headed out to a market for dinner, where we came across a great Mediterranean place! I ordred shawarma, Rod ordered falafel. There was an arcade, so while we waited for our food, we played! We made plans, and Rod gave me a ride back home. That night, I had an epiphany. I can't summarize Sylys' life, but what I can do is what we've always done - send him one last Discord message, like the ones we always shared.



Sylys' Confurence and other badges. His badges didn't even have his name, nor the fact that he was the co-director, which lead to many people not knowing who he was.

The next morning, I was ready. Ate breakfast, gathered my things, and walked back. Rod had a task for me - most of Sylys' badges had gathered dust over the decades and went uncleaned. Ash Coyote and Chipfox also made their way over. I stepped out to grab more badges and give Rod and his guests some privacy. We made our hellos, and Ash cried. I asked my friend Xithos to meet me not at the motel, but at The Prancing Skiltaire. The cleaning got a lot easier with a friend!


The very first furry convention conbook. The one in the museum... I'm holding it in my hands...

I showed Ash and Chip the Virtual Furry Museum trailers. They loved it! Also, they were impressed by my Insignia Mini Sonic speakers. Two little speakers in syncronicity filled the room with sound. We all left to eat at that market, the same Mediterranean place that served shawarma and falafel. But everyone got to find other places as well and order whatever they want. I also began writing my speech for Sylys. That evening we split to Costco to purchase food, and Party City for supplies. Thank goodness Xithos was there with a second cart, it was a LOT of food!  Rod wanted me to wear shoes to Costco, so I did. But my ankles started hurting by the time we were finished. We ate at a local restaurant and came back late in the evening. I hadn't finished my speech, but time was up. Xithos gave me a ride back to our motel, and we said goodbye to Rod, still hard at work on his speech and presentation. I told him my idea for the speech, and agreed to let me say it in full, placed at the end. I continued to work on the speech throughout the night.



My friend Xithos helping set up.


Me setting up as well!


The buffet was full of food we purchased from Costco. You can certainly tell Rod has done this before, he was a genius!


Baxter and... someone else whose name I didn't get, taking over registration for me. Thank you both!

Then... morning came. We got up, ate some breakfast, and headed out. It was a cold, soggy day over California. How appropriate given the memorial of someone we all held so dearly. Alofox helped set up, a long with Xithos, Ash Coyote, Chipfox, and myself. We laid out the tablecloths, the food, set up the Registration table, and I even set up my speakers and played music from a playlist for a potential museum. This was made with Sylys in mind, and it was beautiful. I was stressed as Rod had stepped out, and everyone was looking to me for decisions. So... for a brief moment, I became the coordinator. Telling people where food was, the restrooms, and where the event will take place. Many people came. The history of the crowd was incredible, but I was too stricken with a cauldron of emotions. Thank goodness Baxter and another lovely lady came by to take over registration.



Rod, opening the event and beginning his presentation of Sylys' life.

While we ate and sat down, after much time spent on technical issues, Rod gave his 2 hour presentation of Sylys' life. It was one hell of an oral biography, which included Ash and myself. Mentioning the documentary, she was in tears. Mentioning the museum... so was I.



Ash Coyote, in tears, after Rod mentioned The Fandom. The whole room applauded. Chipfox also felt honored!

Fursuiters were definitely present at Sylys' rememberance ceremony. Of course he'd love that!

During the speeches, I opened my Chromebook and finally my own. I had no list or order for names, so I was anxiously awaiting my name to be called every time Rod got up to the stage... Ash went, Adam, Joe Bear, Panda Jenn, and finally, me. I was stricken with grief, but all I could think of was Sylys and Rod. I walked to the stage, Chromebook in hand, and hugged him. I gave the speech, which went quite well.




My speech begins at 4:20:10.


After the VRChat testimonials, which included Tau of the Sun and several others, the event continued in the dining hall. Some sought critique from me. I explained my barefooting to others. We all ate. We signed our names and messages for Sylys. I made a new friend in Blazi Wolf. Finally, the event wound down. The to-go boxes were my idea, to help people take food home with them after the event was over. Those boxes were filled, but we still had a lot to take home with us!


Many people joined us that day. The social hour helped us all feel better after the depth of the speeches and Sylys' passing.


Had my picture taken with a suiter. I believe this was Adam the Ambitious.


Many items from the Skilltaire's archive were displayed.

We all signed our names, drew our fursonas, and sent messages to Sylys. It was beautiful.

We helped take down tables and clean up. Xithos drove me back to our motel, and I gave Blazi a sticker. From an event of nearly 200 people, we were now down to 2. When all was said and done, it was a good day. Back at home, I had a conversation with Xithos, and we took a photo together with the painting he made for me. We said our farewells as he drove home. And I was once again in a room alone.


...I called Blazi through Telegram. We spoke and figured out plans for the following day. He was going to attend a party hosted by Scribbles, and both permitted us to go. I figured Rod must be feeling the same way I was - alone. I felt that after all that happened, the best cure for loneliness was friends. I dragged all my belongings to the Skiltaire. This was my last day. I struck a conversation about fans with Changa, became a fan of Pogo myself, and hopped on the Funday Pawpet Show Discord call with Inari and Rod. I could feel Rod unwinding, and relaxing. As we left and headed to Scribbles party later that day, I pitched it as "we can go hang with some Furries and unload some of this food!"



The cuddle pile was awesome!

It was in an apartment complex with a locked gate. It felt ominous seeing so many closed doors. We made our way inside, and met 20+ Furries, some in suit laying over a couch, many talking with Korean BBQ skewers, suitmakers, and artists! Most of the people here were of Korean descent, so Rod and I stood out. There was tons of meat rotating on skewers. I tried a bite and was in heaven! I joined the snuggle pile, obviously at the end with all the paws! It was so soft and inviting! And then TransformTiger offered me to wear a Lucario plushie.


Lucario used Force Palm!


I love just being a Furry!

Suddenly, I was Lucario, having a Pokemon battle with a Luxray, and had an amazing time! Being able to unwind, and just be a Furry, in a room with other Furries, was the highlight of my trip. Rod was feeling good as well! I asked him if this is how the furry room parties used to go. He nodded his head, and said "they got even bigger than this!" Considering how many people were in such a small space, I was surprised. For some "geeks," the fandom sure knows how to party!



Amazing Korean BBQ. First time I tried Scallops as well. I am now a fan!

Cute fursuiters all over!

We couldn't stay for long, but I thanked Blazi and Scribbles for the wonderful party!


Only one stop remained: the airport. On our trip there, I played that playlist for Rod. We laughed, reminisced, and enjoyed good music along the way. After all the hullabaloo, we were just a couple of fans sharing what we loved with the people we love. A poetic end to a wonderful trip. A trip I wish I made while Sylys was still alive. Rod gave me a big hug, and my time in California was over.


Waiting to board my 4-hour flight to Charlotte. Barefoot, because I wouldn't have it any other way!

I made it through Santa Ana barefoot. Only needed shoes to board the plane. I tried to get as much sleep as possible riding back home. And then, across the Skyway bridge, I finally made it back home. Alone, but not so lonely, anymore. I hopped on my computer, clocked in, and started working.



R.I.P. Sylys Sable. Ye will be missed, and n'er forgotten.

274 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Hi, Bob Jensen here, or as Mark called me "Bob Ginseng".


I wasn't Mark's oldest friend, Loring Manley probably holds that title, unless there's another school mate of his that stayed friends.


I met Mark in June '70 when we were both just out of highschool. It was at a meeting of the Orange County Amateur Astronomers Association in the basement of the Lincoln Savings and Loan across the street from Santa Ana College. It sounds like you're the archivist of all things Sy and Furrydom so I'll correct where the photo of Mark, Harris Fogel (the kid) and I (on the far left of the photo) were attending a meeting of the club a couple years later. It was…


Like
bottom of page