top of page
Search

Downtown Sarasota, and Boca


A wooden bridge parallel to U.S. 41 heading into downtown Sarasota. Van Wezel on the right, Marina Jack's and Bayfront Park are one mile down the street.


1/1/2024 - Today on New Year's, I spent the day walking around Sarasota with my cousin, Jack. We started off from his new condo and walked down U.S. 41 into Main Street and all over downtown. Most people don't know this, but I pulled my name "Sotalo" from the city and county I was raised my whole life, Sarasota. Sarasota had been described to me as a great hub: nearby, you have some of the world's greatest beaches paired with so many great restaurants.


I had previous grievances with the city of Sarasota relating to my barefooting: the Bay Runner, a trolley that runs to St. Armand's, forbids barefooting, and the Selby Library also forbade it. I was aggressively thrown out by a security guard there, who I was told was promptly fired. However, that's where I was also informed the city of Sarasota forbids barefooting in all its official public buildings. It would require a city commission vote to overturn these rules. And many people moving here tend to be older, more conservative, and from a crowd that can afford our now-expensive housing market. Truth be told, my personality also comes from Sarasota. The way I talk, the way I think, the way I consider other people, that's all Sarasota.


Despite the issue with local politics, the location itself has beautiful sights. And to my surprise, downtown seems made for barefooting! There are so many different surfaces, between various kinds of concrete and asphalt, brickwork, painted grounds, the truncated dome mats, and grass, and many of the man-made surfaces tend to be extraordinarily high quality! Not the rough stuff! This made for a very expressive experience. And I was very lucky to have walked and enjoyed the day without judgement or issue!



An Autumn Sangria at Boca, just off of Main Street


Sadly, I don't have too many photos of the day, but I did have a slice of tomato basil pizza at a local pizzeria. No issues at the pizzeria. It was a nice, albeit extremely flat pizza. I think it's good for Diabetes, you feel like you're eating a lot, but not really. That wasn't going to be our dinner. My cousin and I were worried for a moment about finding a place that could service me, but I suggested we look for a place with outdoor seating. And walking around Mattison's, that's where he spotted a great little place ironically called Boca.


Now... Let me attempt to write a food blog. I don't often do this, but this place deserves it.


This New Year's, I tried a refreshing Autumn Sangria cocktail, which tasted sweetly of oranges and "autumn" spices, and a white wine. The drink was refreshing, satisfying, and not overwhelmingly alcoholic. We tried ordering some appetizers as well, but there were many dishes not on the menu. More on that in a minute!


Again, sorry I didn't take photos, but at this place we also had the best calamari of my life. The fried squid was excellent, mixed in with some fried and battered onions. The batter was so superb, and so well cooked, I now question the laws of physics necessary to get a food fried so well without any grease! I was eating this with my hands, expecting a mountain of grease, but it wasn't bad! All the excess had been graciously removed. The crunch was satisfying, even through the lemon. And finishing it off with the arrabbitta sauce was phenomenal, which I can tell you for a $15 Calamari thankfully does not taste from a can! My personal favorite was the garlicky, creamy, and smoothest tartar sauce I've ever swallowed! (Checked the menu - it's actually a citrus aioli). The sauces have to be made in-house, they were phenomenal. I'd come here again just to retry the calamari!


Fish of the day - Sea Bass with butternut squash and spinach.


And then came the main course - I had that day's market fish, a roasted sea bass with butternut squash and spinach. All I can say is YUM! The fish was roasted perfectly: a crispy outer layer, fully cooked on the inside, but absolutely soft and tender. This is tricky to get right. Not just that, but I also never thought vegetables could taste so good! The squash wasn't terribly sweet, but it was fulfilling. The sauce was either butter or crème fraîche, surely vegetables can't taste that good! It was like a sweet potato from heaven, or something.


I'm now realizing I'm terrible at writing food blogs. I can spend a few paragraphs describing with purple prose what excellent, satisfying food tastes like. For some, a meal like this would be ludicrously expensive. And I surely wouldn't recommend eating here every day. But if you're going to travel to a bay like Sarasota... have the seafood, and be impressed. It's a small place just off of Main Street called Boca. Come here if you have exquisite taste, and would like very much to taste something exquisite.


There was a time our waitress was gone for a bit taking care of other customers, by the time my cousin's girlfriend arrived she'd been waiting about 10 minutes. But the waitress realized, she apologized and everything was quickly rectified. We received prompt service from everyone thereafter. There was a funny sitcom moment with a young employee struggling to turn on a propane heater. My cousin Jack is a licensed contractor. Given enough time, I suppose anything is possible. Even the general manager of the restaurant stopped by asking if everything was good. It was! That's when we heard about the reasons so many items had been missing from the menu: they'd been packed the night before, and no deliveries were made on New Year's. She had to run to Publix to gather food for that day. Those on the barefooter groups know my experience with Publix... but who cares? The real story here is the miracle we were even able to find a place with food this good to eat on New Year's day, together with excellent service.


I'd informed the manager of my need to be barefoot, and how I was treated with great respect by everyone and it wasn't an issue. She carried on the conversation, it wasn't a problem.




Finishing my Sangria, we headed back to the car and had some Key Lime Pie and tea at home. I could end the blog here and it'd be a perfect day. But when we got back, we watched a compilation of 60-Minute clips on A.I. We saw a whole list of different companies and uses for A.I.:


  • Facial recognition to point out inattentive students

  • Demographics recognition for street cameras

  • Automated servers to retrieve items

  • Chatbots which write essays, poems, and answer questions (including many errant hallucinations)

  • Protein folding


I find it odd amongst all the professionals they asked which begged for regulation and guardrails to ensure the technology would serve the best needs of the public, they didn't bother asking an economist. 40% - 67% of all jobs would be totally upended by A.I, and we're heading into a future where the value of real human labor will plummet, and be supplanted by machines. The two biggest hiring sectors in America were cashiers and transportation. We're already seeing the end of mass cashiering, most of whom are being replaced by self checkouts, and Uber brought a swift end to taxi service. How long before that Uber car is able to drive itself? Another question - who will write the rules when we still have lawmakers at all levels of government who haven't learned how to use computers? It isn't absurd to see our economy isn't built for so many jobs to be upended so quickly by A.I. The hallucinations I'm certain can be solved by training on better sources of data, but if companies don't care about the bad data going in, then we end up moving to a future where we rely on neural network programs that spit bad data out, and the biggest expense are our jobs.


I now have a weird thought: if all waiters and waitresses were replaced by robots, which could happen in the next 20 years, could I ever be served as a barefooter in any restaurant in Sarasota? Or would the robots detect that I'm not wearing shoes, refuse to serve me, and deny my humanity? The drive for 100% accuracy with these devices to detect and enforce policies would only benefit humanity if those policies benefit humans as well. Today, I lived my life as a normal person who just has to do things in a little bit of a different way. I already know what people think of me. What do the robots think?


---


ME: Hello ChatGPT. I am a barefooter with Type One Diabetes. What do you think about this?


ChatGPT: Hello! Being a barefooter with Type 1 Diabetes means that you prefer not to wear shoes and also manage a condition that requires careful attention to blood sugar levels. While going barefoot can be a personal choice and might have its benefits, it's crucial to consider your health and safety, especially with a medical condition like Type 1 Diabetes.

Here are a few points to keep in mind:

  1. Foot Care: People with diabetes need to pay special attention to foot care. Going barefoot increases the risk of cuts, scrapes, and injuries that may go unnoticed due to potential nerve damage (neuropathy) associated with diabetes.

  2. Risk of Infection: Bare feet are more susceptible to infections. People with diabetes should be particularly cautious about foot injuries and infections, as they may take longer to heal and can lead to serious complications.

  3. Blood Sugar Monitoring: Managing blood sugar levels is crucial for individuals with Type 1 Diabetes. Regular monitoring and maintaining stable blood sugar levels are essential to prevent complications.

  4. Comfort and Lifestyle Choices: If going barefoot is comfortable for you and fits well with your lifestyle, it may be a viable choice. Just be sure to take precautions to avoid potential risks to your foot health.

  5. Consult with Healthcare Professionals: It's always a good idea to discuss lifestyle choices, including footwear preferences, with your healthcare team. They can provide personalized advice based on your specific health needs and concerns.

Ultimately, the key is finding a balance between personal preferences and health considerations. If you enjoy going barefoot, consider doing so in safe environments, and pay extra attention to foot care to minimize potential risks. Always consult with your healthcare team to ensure that your choices align with your overall diabetes management plan.


ME: I think this is sensible, but I have to say, I've always been in pain wearing shoes. My legs would get sore, and sometimes even lock up the following day. But since going barefoot full-time, my leg pain vanished. I haven't had to use any first aid, my feet are getting tougher, and most of the environments I go barefoot are places most people think would not be safe: city streets, concrete sidewalks, even hiking. Not only is it more comfortable, but I'm feeling less pain. Can you list me some of the benefits of being barefoot?


ChatGPT: Certainly, it's interesting to hear about your positive experiences with going barefoot. While it's essential to consider the potential risks, there are also reported benefits associated with barefoot living for some individuals. Here are some of the potential benefits:

  1. Improved Foot Strength: Going barefoot can help to strengthen the muscles, tendons, and ligaments in your feet. It may contribute to better overall foot function.

  2. Better Balance and Proprioception: Walking barefoot can enhance your sense of balance and proprioception (awareness of body position). This is because your feet can better sense the ground and make adjustments accordingly.

  3. Reduced Foot Pain: Some people find relief from foot pain and discomfort when they go barefoot. This may be due to the absence of restrictive footwear that can sometimes contribute to foot issues.

  4. Natural Arch Support: Going barefoot allows your feet to function more naturally, which may help maintain the natural arch of the foot and potentially reduce the risk of developing flat feet.

  5. Improved Posture: When walking barefoot, your body may adjust its posture to accommodate the natural contours of the terrain. This can contribute to better overall posture and alignment.

  6. Joint Health: Some barefoot enthusiasts claim that it reduces joint pain and stiffness, particularly in the knees and hips, as the body adapts to the natural terrain.

  7. Better Circulation: Without the constriction of shoes, blood circulation in the feet may improve, providing potential benefits for vascular health.

  8. Sense of Connection to the Environment: Going barefoot can provide a sensory experience, allowing you to feel the ground beneath you and connect more intimately with your surroundings.

  9. Improved Foot Conditions: For some, going barefoot has been associated with improvements in certain foot conditions, such as bunions and hammertoes. However, individual experiences may vary.


It's important to note that these benefits may not apply universally, and individual responses can vary. Additionally, people with certain health conditions, including diabetes, need to be particularly cautious about foot health and consult with healthcare professionals for personalized advice.


While enjoying the benefits of going barefoot, it's crucial to strike a balance and be mindful of potential risks, especially in urban or challenging environments. Regular foot care and monitoring can help ensure a positive and safe experience.


---


If this is truly the wild west of A.I, then maybe the future will be OK. The economics will get weird, though. Call me old fashioned, but I believe good, honest work should be rewarded. And good people should always be thanked and commended for their efforts. The discussion of A.I. shouldn't undercut or diminish that whatsoever. The meal I had today was cooked and served by humans of the highest order. And there's no humanity emulated by A.I. that people cannot show each other.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page